Hand Carved Owls with Tatted Glasses

Owls with Tatting - 3Owls with Tatting - 1Owls with Tatting - 2Owls with Tatting - 4

I am a Tatter (a person that does Tatting – making Lace with a Shuttle). I am also a Wood Carver… and in this post you will see some Owls that I have created by carving a tree branch.

In my first edition of these Owls I carved them and then add wood burning(Pyrography) to show feathers and finer features.  In that the owls are not very large the strokes of the pyrography pen are very small.

I am participating in Textile and Fiber Arts show soon which is entitled “Fabrilicious” at Lang Pioneer Village in Ontario, Canada.  As a Tatter and Artist I love presenting new ideas for the folk I meet at the shows.  What better way to show off Tatting in a very small way – that with Owls.

Every one loves Owls – so Owls with Tatted Sun Glasses in summer should be fun.

So here are my Tatted Sun Glasses.  Hopefully my fellow Tatters can pick up the pattern (and the idea of the pattern) from the photo.

Each Owl will be a little different ion that each Owl is a different size. I vary the cotton size from 40 to 20 – as well as the number of double stitches and picots.

Enjoy!

August 9, 2018

Just completed more Owls – Big and Small –  “A “Parliament” of Owls –  (Note – Owls are generally solitary, but when seen together the group is called a “parliament” as they have long been considered to be of a wise disposition. In Greek mythology, the owl is the symbol for Athena, the goddess of wisdom. Geese are called a “gaggle” as the word is imitative of the noise they make.)

Owls with Tatting - 6Owls with Tatting - 7Owls with Tatting - 8Owls with Tatting - 9Owls with Tatting - 10

 

 

About The Tatting Whisperer

Hi my name is Murray Lincoln. I am now retired and loving the free time to create with my Tatting and Wood Carving, sometimes bringing the two together. I began my journey with Tatting in 1975. While visiting my Great Aunt in a Senior's Home in Des Moines, Iowa, she told me the story of my Great Grandpa that was a Tatter. As well he was a Wood Carver and had carved three Hickory Shuttles for his three daughters. One of these daughters was my Grandma Lincoln. My Grandma Lincoln may have been the greatest Tatter ever - so my Great Aunt told me. Grandma Lincoln Tatted from age 8 years until she passed away in her 80s. Today I am a Tatter, so are my two daughters and also my Granddaughter Emma. six Generations now have carried on this beautiful craft. My Web Site featuring my creations is http://www.murraylincoln.com/
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment