One Hole, Two Hole Button Angels – and Sea Shell Angels

Sea Shell Angel-s 1337Just before Christmas 2012 I discovered “Birgit’s Tatting” Blog and the Simple Angel – which I label as a “Button Angel”.  Her Blog posting can be seen at http://birgitstatting.blogspot.ca/2010/03/simple-angel.html

With a few adaptations to this pattern I have created many Button Angels for the Christmas season 2012.

After the Button Angels I launched out into a new area which I entitle Sea Shell Angels you will see the patterns in this posting.

The Button Angel is fairly easy to do using the “four hole” buttons with a Chain Wing.  The “two hole” buttons have Ring Wings.

Both the skirt or lower body is the same on the Angels as well as the head.  The body is a little different on all of the Angels depending on the size of the button – or the Sea Shell.  By simply adding more double stitch combinations to the chain that outlines the body you are able to accommodate the different sizes.

To fasten the Button into the Angel Body was easy with the holes that are already there. The Sea Shells were a bigger challenge. I need to drill small holes in the Shells.  Using my ‘Dremel’ tool and a sharp bit I succeeded after a number of broken shells (too big a hurry or the wrong pressure while drilling the holes).

Some shells have two holes and others have only one.

The two hole shell is worked into the Angel the same way that the Two Hole Button is – by doing a ‘joining’ to the button.

The one hole shell is worked in by doing the ‘joining’ below the ring that makes the head.  This one hole sea shell has a larger number of double stitch combinations up the sides to allow for the size of the shell.

Pattern – Simple Angel – Two hole button

R 3-3-3-3

C 4

R 3+3-3-3

R 3+5-2-2-5-3

R 3+3-3-3

C 4

R 3+3-3-3

Using the thread from this last ring wrapped around your finger start the body Chain.  This will make the chain arch the opposite way the C 4 is worked.  The new line of picots will be to the outside of the body.  The chain will also be created to fit the size of the button or sea shell.

C 3+(to the 3rd picot of the last R) 3-3 +(join to the left hand button hole) 3

R 10-3-3-3-3-3-3-3-3-3-3-3 (this is the left wing)

C 3+(to last picot of wing)3

R 4-2-2-4 (head)

C 3-3

R 3+3-3-3-3-3-3-3-3-3-3-10 (this is the right wing)

C 3+(to the right hand button hole) 3-3+3 (join to the first picot of the first ring)3

Cut and tie into the base of the first R-C connection.

Pattern – Simple Angel – Four hole button

R 3-3-3-3

C 4

R 3+3-3-3

R 3+5-2-2-5-3

R 3+3-3-3

C 4

R 3+3-3-3

Using the thread from this last ring wrapped around your finger start the body Chain.  This will make the chain arch the opposite way the C 4 is worked.  The new line of picots will be to the outside of the body.  The chain will also be created to fit the size of the button or sea shell.

C 3+(to the 3rd picot of the last R) 3-3 +(join to the left hand lower button hole)

C 10-3-3-3-3-3-3-3-3-3-3+ (this is the left wing – join into the top left hole of the button)

C 3-3

R 4-2-2-4 (head)

C 3-3+(join into the top right hole of the button)

C 3-3-3-3-3-3-3-3-3-3-10+ (this is the right wing – join to the lower right hole of the button)

C 3-3-3+3 (join to the first picot of the first ring)3

Cut and tie into the base of the first R-C connection.

~ Murray Lincoln ~

Button Angel-s 1341 Button Angel-s 1342 Button Angel-s 1344 Button Angel-s 1345 Button Angel-s 1346 Button Angel-s 1347 Sea Sheel Angel-s 1339 Sea Shell Angel-s 1337 Sea Shell Angel-s 1338

About The Tatting Whisperer

Hi my name is Murray Lincoln. I am now retired and loving the free time to create with my Tatting and Wood Carving, sometimes bringing the two together. I began my journey with Tatting in 1975. While visiting my Great Aunt in a Senior's Home in Des Moines, Iowa, she told me the story of my Great Grandpa that was a Tatter. As well he was a Wood Carver and had carved three Hickory Shuttles for his three daughters. One of these daughters was my Grandma Lincoln. My Grandma Lincoln may have been the greatest Tatter ever - so my Great Aunt told me. Grandma Lincoln Tatted from age 8 years until she passed away in her 80s. Today I am a Tatter, so are my two daughters and also my Granddaughter Emma. six Generations now have carried on this beautiful craft. My Web Site featuring my creations is http://www.murraylincoln.com/
Gallery | This entry was posted in fringe tatters, tatting, tatting design, tatting designs, tatting shuttle, tatting whisperer, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to One Hole, Two Hole Button Angels – and Sea Shell Angels

  1. Patty Markley says:

    Murray, I really like your seashell angels they are my favorites but the button angels are really cute too.

  2. Hi there Murray. Glad I found your blog! I just love the smaller angel, especially the Sea Shell Angels. Will be waiting to see what else you have to share with us…

  3. Jessica says:

    Hi,

    I’m so glad I stumbled upon your blog! I’m a young West Coast shuttle tatter who has passed on what I know to eight others. I learned to tat from books (I have not yet met a fellow tatter in person). I thoroughly enjoyed your woodwork and admire your skills. Thank you for sharing your art!

    Jessica

Leave a Reply

