Hello Tatting World!

Welcome to my new Blog on Tatting.  Following the lead of some of my friends and also responding to the requests of my Tatting Students I have started on this new project to publish my Tatting designs.  I trust you will enjoy the samples of my Tatting.

The name of this Site may seem a wee bit presumptuous to some.  Like the popular ‘Dog Whisperer’ and ‘Horse Whisperer’ before that, both helped others to get a handle on what they need to do for success with their critters.  A friend of mine became the ‘Yarn Whisperer’. She is amazing with her Knitting. So why not ‘Tatting Whisperer’? Yes! Why not?!?

I help people to be able to begin Tatting and also get a handle on their Tatting to the point of beginning to design with me. I have been teaching Tatting since 1976 and have students all over the world.  There isn’t much I haven’t done with a Tatting Shuttle.

My greatest delight is teaching others how to Tat. The second delight is creating something new with my Tatting Shuttles.

I hope you will benefit from what you find on this Site in days to come.

Murray

About The Tatting Whisperer

Hi my name is Murray Lincoln. I am now retired and loving the free time to create with my Tatting and Wood Carving, sometimes bringing the two together. I began my journey with Tatting in 1975. While visiting my Great Aunt in a Senior's Home in Des Moines, Iowa, she told me the story of my Great Grandpa that was a Tatter. As well he was a Wood Carver and had carved three Hickory Shuttles for his three daughters. One of these daughters was my Grandma Lincoln. My Grandma Lincoln may have been the greatest Tatter ever - so my Great Aunt told me. Grandma Lincoln Tatted from age 8 years until she passed away in her 80s. Today I am a Tatter, so are my two daughters and also my Granddaughter Emma. six Generations now have carried on this beautiful craft. My Web Site featuring my creations is http://www.murraylincoln.com/
This entry was posted in tatting, tatting classes, tatting designs, tatting shuttle, tatting whisperer, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Hello Tatting World!

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. Hi, Welcome to the wonderful world of blogging. As for as tatting, I am a newbie…lol
    I have been tatting for over 2 years and apart from the Lord, this is my first love. I look forward to following you. Thank you for sharing!

  3. Maria H says:

    Your blog is wonderful! Thank you for blogging AND tatting!

  4. Armida Sawan says:

    Hi Murray,

    I moved to Toronto from California nearly two years ago. On a recent trip to Wichita to see my father in law I learned about tatting. I’m interested in learning how to do it. I found a yarn shop in Wichita that would give lessons, unfortunately I won’t be in here long enough to take the lessons. I’ve been looking online for classes in Toronto, but haven’t had much luck locating any. I’m wondering if you might have any leads?

    • Armida
      I am part of a “local” group entitled the “Fringe Tatters”- in Ontario and parts of the states bordering the Great Lakes. There are Fringe Tatters in the Toronto area. I am located in Peterborough just north and east of T.O. Try contacting Ruth Maceachern and I believe that will help you connect. Each year in September the Fringe Tatters have a weekend set aside in a hotel in Cambridge Ontario – where all the Tatters meet. I will drop Ruth a note that you may contact here too.

      Love your name BTW – I am married to “Alida”

  5. Armida Sawan says:

    Thank you Murray. I’ve sent the group an email, I believe it is Ruth that checks them. Hopefully I will be able to start tatting in no time!

    My name means “little armed one” in Latin :D. I was named after my mother, who was born “Almida” but changed it when she became a US citizen.

Leave a Reply

